Inauguration day schedule: Trump’s first engagements as president

Donald Trump will be sworn in as US president at a ceremony in Washington DC, and will attend a parade and inaugural balls

Donald Trump inauguration – live coverage

Inauguration day schedule: Trump's first engagements as president
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Google+
  • Delicious
  • StumbleUpon
  • Tumblr
A sweatshirt commemorating the inauguration of Donald Trump.
Photograph: Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

Powered by Guardian.co.uk
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Google+
  • Delicious
  • StumbleUpon
  • Tumblr
This article titled “Inauguration day schedule: Trump’s first engagements as president” was written by Nicole Puglise, for theguardian.com on Friday 20th January 2017 15.59 UTC

Donald Trump is due to be sworn in as the 45th president of the United States. Thousands of people have travelled to Washington DC to watch the events in person – or to participate in protests against them.

6am EST (11am GMT/9pm AEST): Security screening gates open to the public. Ticket holders will enter one of six areas, depending on the colour of their ticket, according to the joint congressional committee on inaugural ceremonies (JCCIC).

Trump will begin the day by going to a service at St John’s church and then having coffee with Barack Obama (along with Melania and the First Lady).

7am EST (midday GMT/10pm AEST): The Answer (Act Now to Stop War and End Racism) Coalition is planning a protest at Freedom Plaza.

11.30am EST (4.30pm GMT/2.30am AEST): The swearing-in ceremony begins. The United States Marine Band will play first, according to the inauguration programme. There will be readings by faith leaders and remarks from the Missouri senator Roy Blunt, chair of the JCCIC. The Missouri State University Chorale will play, before the vice-president-elect, Mike Pence, takes the oath of office. Next comes the Mormon Tabernacle Choir.

Midday EST (5pm GMT/3am AEST): Trump will be sworn in around this time. The oath of office will be administered by the chief justice, John Roberts. Trump then gives his inaugural address and additional readings. Jackie Evancho, 16, who rose to fame on the TV show America’s Got Talent, will sing the national anthem.

A few notable anticipated attendees at the ceremony include Rosalynn Carter, Jimmy Carter, Laura Bush, George W Bush, Hillary Clinton and Bill Clinton.

Inauguration day schedule

Afternoon: The JCCIC has planned the traditional inaugural luncheon, to take place in National Statuary Hall at the Capitol. Four years ago Obama and guests dined on steamed lobster and hickory grilled bison. The menu for this year’s luncheon includes Maine lobster and Gulf shrimp, Seven Hills Angus beef, and chocolate soufflé and cherry vanilla ice cream for dessert.

3pm EST (8pm GMT/6am AEST): The inaugural parade. There has been some controversy over a few of the groups slated to perform, including the marching band from Talladega College, a historically black college in Alabama, and the Marist College Band, from Poughkeepsie, New York. Additional college and high school bands and other groups from around the country will participate, as well as national groups such as the Boy Scouts of America, Wounded Warrior Project, and representatives from each military branch, to name a few.

Evening: The Trumps and Pences will attend three official inaugural balls, according to the presidential inaugural committee. Two, titled “Liberty and Freedom: The Official Presidential Inaugural Balls”, will be held at the Walter E Washington Convention Centre, with Sam Moore, the Piano Guys and the Rockettes listed among the performers. The Salute To Our Armed Services Ball will take place at the National Building Museum.

Unofficial events are also planned. The Creative Coalition has hosted a bipartisan inauguration night gala fundraiser for the past 20 years, and this year is no different. It lists a number of celebrity hosts, including the actors Tim Daly, John Leguizamo and Christina Hendricks. The Great Gatsby Presidential Inaugural Ball, hosted by Dardanella, a party company, will take place at the National Portrait Gallery. Planned Parenthood of Metropolitan Washington will host its Pink Ball at the Carol Whitehill Moses Centre, and the Anti-Inauguration will take place at the Lincoln theatre, according to the Washington Post.

Protests #DisruptJ20 says it will hold a few events on the day, including a Festival of Resistance, which will march from Union station to McPherson Square; other protests are also planned.

Saturday 21 January

10am EST (3pm GMT/1am AEST): An interfaith prayer service will be held at Washington’s National Cathedral.

At the same time, the Women’s March on Washington sets off from the intersection of Independence Avenue and Third Street SW, near the US Capitol. More than 200,000 people are expected to participate. March organisers announced a lengthy list of speakers for the event including: Cecile Richards, president of Planned Parenthood Federation of America; television host Janet Mock; Rhea Suh, president of the Natural Resources Defence Council; activist Angela Davis; actors America Ferrera and Scarlett Johansson and many, many more. There will also be performances by Janelle Monae and Maxwell, among others.

Numerous “sister marches” are planned across the country and around the world.

Evening The Anti-Ball, a benefit concert for Planned Parenthood, takes place at the Black Cat.

guardian.co.uk © Guardian News & Media Limited 2010

Published via the Guardian News Feed plugin for WordPress.

Tell Us What You Think